Schengen Visa


The Schengen Area is a remarkable achievement in European integration, creating a vast passport-free zone across multiple countries. Within this zone, individuals can traverse borders without facing the hassle of border control or immigration procedures. It’s a traveller’s dream, allowing for seamless journeys across participating nations.

One of the key components of this system is the Schengen visa, which grants holders the privilege of staying in Schengen countries for up to 90 days without the need for a permanent visa. This visa is incredibly versatile, catering to a wide range of purposes, from short business trips to leisurely holidays, visits to friends and relatives, cultural events, and even medical treatment.

With 26 countries signed up to the Schengen agreement, there’s ample opportunity for exploration within this expansive zone. Whether you’re wandering through the streets of Paris, soaking up the sun in Spain, or exploring the historic sites of Italy, the Schengen visa opens doors to unforgettable experiences.

But navigating the Schengen visa application process can be daunting, especially considering the various requirements and circumstances involved. That’s where our immigration experts come in. We’re here to provide immediate advice and support, helping you through every step of the application process.

So, whether you’re planning a European adventure for business or pleasure, make sure you’re equipped with the knowledge and assistance you need to make your journey smooth and stress-free. Stay tuned to our blog for more insights into the world of travel and immigration.


The documents required for your Schengen Visa application may vary depending on the specific type of visa you’re applying for. However, here’s a general checklist of some of the most commonly needed documents:

  • Completed online visa application form
  • Two recent identical passport-style photos
  • Valid passport or travel document with a minimum of three months validity beyond the intended date of departure
  • Full copy of all pages in the passport
  • Proof of travel tickets confirming arrival and departure times
  • Medical travel insurance with a minimum coverage of €30,000
  • Evidence of financial means to cover your stay
  • Proof of intended accommodation arrangements
  • Receipt of payment for the visa application fee

Additionally, you’ll need to provide visa-specific documents that are relevant to the purpose of your travel.


Applying for a Schengen visa involves several steps, which may vary depending on your individual circumstances. Here’s a general overview of the process:

  • Determine the appropriate type of visa for your situation.
  • Identify the most suitable location to submit your visa application, which could be an embassy, consulate, visa centre, or possibly another country’s embassy if applicable.
  • Apply for the visa at the right time according to your travel plans.
  • Arrange a visa appointment at the embassy or consulate of the Schengen country you intend to visit.
  • Download and complete the Schengen visa application form.
  • Gather the necessary supporting documents, including standard requirements and any visa-specific documents.
  • Prepare for and attend your visa interview, if required.
  • Pay the visa application fee, which is currently €80 per adult applicant.
  • Await a decision on your application.

While the application process may appear straightforward, there is still a possibility of refusal or denial. If you require expert guidance, it’s advisable to seek assistance from an experienced immigration lawyer. Working with a dedicated professional can increase your chances of a successful application, minimise delays, and help avoid additional costs.


The Schengen countries primarily encompass most EU nations, excluding notable exceptions like Ireland and others. Additionally, there are EU member states that are not part of the Schengen Area, such as Romania, Bulgaria, Cyprus, and Croatia.

Among the Schengen countries are the majority of EU member states, including Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, and Switzerland.

Furthermore, certain countries outside the EU are still part of the Schengen Agreement, such as Iceland, Norway, and Switzerland.

For further information about XT 24 and our personal immigration services, please get in touch with a member of our team. We are here to address any questions and guide you through the process.

Immigration Attorney
Human Rights Senior Solicitor